TSA: Acceptable Identification

Anyone 18 or over is required to show a U.S. ID (federal or state issued) when entering the TSA checkpoint.

NOTE: If you have forgotten your ID, please let the TSA Officer know. This does not meant that you will miss your flight. TSA has other ways of obtaining and verifying your identity. Be aware that if you have forgotten your ID you may be required to go through additional screening or if TSA cannot verify your identity they may not allow you through the checkpoint.

List of Acceptable IDs:

  • U.S. Passport
  • U.S. Passport Card
  • DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, FAST)
  • U.S. Military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DOD civilians)
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Border Crossing Card
  • DHS - designated enhanced driver's license.
  • Drivers Licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent)
  • Native American Tribal Photo ID
  • An airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
  • A foreign government-issued passport
  • Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) card
  • Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC)
  • Non-US/Canadian citizens are not required to carry their passports if they have documents issued by the U.S. government such as Permanent Resident Cards. Those who do not should be carrying their passports while visiting the U.S.

For more information on this or other TSA Guidelines, please visit www.tsa.gov.